Motorola Razr V3

Review: Motorola Razr V3 -- Thin Is In

5 stars
Impossibly slim, yet remarkably robust -- it's a gorgeous hit.
in Phone Booth

More Photos:
Photo 2 Photo 3 Photo 4



Screen:
176 x 220 px, 262,000 colors
TFT
Camera:
0.3 MP / 640 x 480 px / 4X Zoom / Self-Timer / Video Recorder

Processor:
Unknown
Data:
GPRS (Class 10)
Memory:
5.5 MB
Slot:
No

Form:
Clamshell
Dimensions:
98 x 53 x 14 mm
Weight:
95 g
Battery:
750 mAh Li-Ion
Talk Time:
3 hours
Standby Time:
8.3 days


The Razr is truly a design and engineering marvel. From its clean lines and lightweight feel, to the sturdy aluminum-alloy materials, Motorola combined great design, feel and durability into the thinnest device to date.

To make the thinnest device ever, you need innovations in engineering. Plastic is too fragile, so a chemically etched keypad was used to make a remarkable 13.9-millimeter profile. It's surprisingly lightweight, yet durable enough to withstand everyday wear and tear.


Compare With Similar Phones:


Google Nexus 5 Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Apple IPhone 5C Apple IPhone 5S Motorola Moto X
Google Nexus 5 Samsung Galaxy Note 3 Apple IPhone 5C Apple IPhone 5S Motorola Moto X



When folded, the thickness of buttons adds bulk. So engineers figure out a way around to craft a completely flat keypad by covering the touchpad in nickel-plated copper-alloy. It then chemically etched numbers and symbols into an electro-luminescent strip. The result: a futuristic, wafer-thin, keypad that lights up in a futuristic blue hue in the dark. I found it a bit awkward at first, but the design doesn't slow down texting speed.

You can snap photos in up to three resolutions: MMS at 160-by-120, medium at 320-by-240 and high at 640-by-480 pixels. To get closer, you can use the 4x digital zoom. Regrettably, it merely crops the photo, unlike true optical zoom, so pictures appear even grainer. If you want better photos, you'll have to zoom in the old-fashioned way, by walking.

A "smart" key makes taking self-portraits easy. When you press it, the viewfinder switches to the front display, so you can see what you're aiming at. In addition, you'll find a decent set of effects and filters. The auto-timed capture lets you take large group shots, while effects let you correct lighting and exposure conditions -- for sunny, cloudy, indoor home, indoor office and night. But the camera lacks any image processing tools.

Most phones have filters and effects -- like black and white, sepia, solarization and negative modes -- but not here. It's also missing fun frames and borders. That's not a big deal, and most are more cheesy than useful, but if you like to add a creative touch, you'll have to do it on Photoshop. You can attach photos in text messages, as email attachments or transferred them to PC via Bluetooth or cable. All images are saved in the "picture album" where you can view them as a slide show.

The front display has a basic 4,096-color 98-by-64 pixel resolution that shows three lines of text -- for reception, battery life, incoming calls and events. On the inside, a more vibrant 262,000-color 176-by-220 pixel TFT screen is revealed. In TFT displays, as opposed to STN, the circuit transistors are added on the glass, so the display won't need to scan each pixel. That means you'll get dramatically faster refresh rates, so games appear smoother with less ghosting.

The internal speaker, meanwhile, pumps out 22-kilohertz sounds, including 24-chord polyphonic ringtones. The number of simultaneous tones has steadily increased, and 24 are fairly thin compared to the 40 in higher-end phone. Traditional ringtones use the MIDI format, which recreates sounds by playing "musical notes." The more chords, the more instruments it can overlay, for more realistic sounding music.

Nevertheless, you won't miss it. A migration to MP3s is taking place, and the Razr supports both formats. MP3s, however, are straight recordings. For realistic melodies, with music and vocals, MP3s are the standard. Aside from the obvious quality difference, it doesn't have to be just music. Its versatility lets you to record and set anything you want as a ringer -- whether it is voice, sounds or music, the possibilities are endless.

For incoming calls, the speakerphone is loud and clear, and voices sound natural. Outgoing voices are clean with minimal distortion. But background noise is easily picked up.

SMS and MMS are here. Texting is intuitive, despite the unorthodox keypad. But instead of T9 predictive text, you'll have to use iTap. They're both very similar, but loyalists will find it difficult to break old habits. MMS is simple and convenient. Instead of just sending texts, you can create multimedia birthday or holiday greetings, for example, or vacation postcard messages. There's a few charming templates to choose from, but for a personal greeting, use the camera to combine a creative message.

You can also chat in real-time. Just log in to Wireless Village and start typing away on AOL, ICQ, Yahoo and MSN. You can also share your status -- like online, offline or busy -- location -- like home or work -- and mood -- like happy or angry. You can also join chat rooms. Carriers also plan to add meeting and conferencing services. You can also check your e-mail over POP, IMAP and SMTP protocols. The Razr stores e-mails and text messages dynamically, depending on available memory.

The Razr also comes with three Java games: Golf, Billiards and Skipping Stones. Billiards and Golf are quite fun and self-explanatory, while Skipping Stones is a logic game similar to the Solitaire. It supports J2ME, so you can download third-party games. Some are free, but most come at a small fee. You can download wallpapers, screen savers, ringtones and themes. MotoMixer, meanwhile, lets you edit sound clips and overlay them to mix sounds. But it's not very useful, and more of a novelty app than serious composition software. Simple tunes are doable, but anything more is hard to use.

A PhoneBook3D app lets you add up to nine numbers and photos. Each number -- such as work, home and mobile -- makes up one side of the cube. You can navigate it by turning and choosing the cubes. It's a nifty way to view your contacts, but more hassle than it's worth. You'll get an organizer to view events in monthly, weekly or hourly breakdowns. You can add entries with names, start and end times and warning alarms. Meanwhile, a calculator, dictaphone and alarm clock round out the programs.

You can surf the Web through a basic Motorola browser, which supports WAP 2.0 and XHTML. Carriers often offer real-time weather reports, sports scores, stocks quotes and travel information, and you can download multimedia at GPRS Class 10, for speeds of up to 48-kilobits per second.

If you plan to download smaller files such as wallpaper, ringtones, e-mail and text messages, the 5.5-megabytes of storage is enough. But MP3s, photos and games can fill up the space quickly. Sadly, there is no expansion slot for extra memory. You'll have to clean out old files to make room.

With Bluetooth, you can wirelessly link to headsets, handsfree gear, computers, printers, PDAs, digital cameras and more. It has a range of up to 300 feet, so you can roam from room to room. But you can also send multimedia and contacts through a mini-USB cable.

The Razr is truly a sight to behold. No other device in the present or past quite compares. From the high-grade materials, to the high-tech engineering, nothing surpasses the Razr. While manufacturers nowadays save costs by using less than stellar plastic materials, the Razr is a welcome change. Obviously, the main draw is the design and build -- the slim and sleek look adds a stylish touch and mystique. If you want a phone to draw envious stares, this is the one to get.

The Razr isn't just an empty shell, either. With a VGA camera, long-range Bluetooth and vibrant displays, it's as functional as it is beautiful. But much of the software remains unchanged from earlier models. With Symbian, smartphones and PDAs hitting the market, its menu seems a bit outdated. Regardless, if you're fashion-conscious, those few drawbacks won't discourage you. The Razr will undoubtedly be a juggernaut only limited by price.

Other Reviews From Around the Web



I Want More Stuff Like This!


We're on a mission to help you understand why technology matters. Sign up to our daily e-mail and see for yourself. See Sample.





Published In:




Phone Booth

Read in-depth reviews on the latest and greatest phones.
Reviews




You Might Also Like:










HTC One Mini: Cheaper, But Just as Great

Rating: 5 Out of 5
A more affordable version of the outstanding One, but just as great as the original


















BlackBerry Z10: Built for a Comeback

Rating: 5 Out of 5
If you have to bet the farm, the Z10 is a great device to do it on.











User Reviews



First Phone, Great Phone!

Rating: 5 of 5 | Gary on January 27, 2008

I don't know where people get off saying this is a piece of junk phone. Maybe there was a bad bunch of Razrs but mine has been nothing but great for me have had it since Christmas, and I am very happy with it.

This is my first ever phone and I wanted one that looked amazing. There is no other phone that looks as cool as the Razr does (maybe the Chocolate). I got it with Rogers pay go service because I hardly ever call anyone plus I can't afford the bill of a monthly phone right now.

The reception is great -- no dropped calls as of yet and the bar is always full or pretty close. The only problem with the reception is that if you go into some stores the service will cut off totally and you have to go back outside before it will turn on again.

I have never used another cell so I don't know how the way the phone is set up compares to others but it's working okay for me as of yet.

The Internet seems fast enough -- a second to download ringtones and for games about 10 seconds. The speaker is very loud so loud you feel like the person on the other end is shouting, so I don't get where people come from in saying this is a quiet phone for talking.

Easy to setup even though at Christmas time can take a while to get the phone activated. The pay go service can take some getting used to if you have never used it before but it is way cheaper than a monthly plan.

I would have liked to have had a MP3 player with it but not a big deal since I have an iPod. I would go for the original before the V8 or V9 because they are a much larger phone that I find is too big for me but that’s up to opinion. No games come with it except for crappy Tetris type thing and it's just a demo. Games are really expensive too so I only have about three on the phone right now.

Dirt is a big problem and I find myself cleaning the front and internal screens every few minutes (I'm picky that way) and if it is closed for an extended period of time the metal keypad leaves number marks on the screen, which is annoying, but these are minor annoyances that shouldn't affect your decision to buy this phone.

Was this review helpful to you?



My Favorite Phone

Rating: 5 of 5 | Lucy on March 04, 2007

I, an avid phone lover who has been through a lot, find this to be my favorite. Here are just some of the reasons why the Motorola Razr V3 is worth every single penny:

- Absolutely beautiful, obviously. Slim, shiny, and sleek. Great show-off phone. I mean, when my friend had one and I didn't, I totally couldn't sleep until I got one.
- Great call quality. It's a phone; this is the most important thing. Dropped calls nonexistent, though this may have some to do with the company (I recommend Cingular, but that's beside the point).
- Easy-to-use, organized texting.
- Light-up keypad and buttons. My fingers just fly over it when texting, so easy to use and press! Very convenient.
- Easy-to-view-and-access missed calls, text messages, etc.
- Hundreds of contacts can be stored in the quick-access phone book.
- Fairly durable. But, hello, if you pay hundreds of bucks for a phone, are you really going to throw it against the wall? Able to survive minor drops and falls unscratched.
- Large, clear, crisp screen on the inside.
- Little screen on the outside showing the time.
- Great photos for a phone. If you want several-megapixel, high quality pictures, buy a camera. But the V3 photos are clearly viewed, shares, stored, etc. And it has more zoom than my high-quality, expensive digital camera.
- Nice, long sound clips.
- Video clips great to take, store, and share with a friend.
- Free storing; large photo album.
- Awesome flippage!

I seriously don't know why people are so hard on this phone. I love this phone! Don't listen to the negative hype. Give it a try. You absolutely will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?



Not Too Bad, Not Too Good

Rating: 3 of 5 | Sid on February 01, 2007

One of my relatives worked for Cingular and got the very first edition of the Razr when it came out. Then I wanted to get one. When I got my V3, I thought it would be an amazing phone. I had a V400 before and was really happy about the Razr's performance and clarity.

Honestly, I think that I made a mistake of buying one. My parents have Razrs too and they have complaints similar to mine. The inner screen collects dust and makes it difficult to see pictures. Thought I have to say that the picture quality is great on the inner screen, the outer screen is very dark and shows the pictures poorly.

Another complaint is that the phone often resets itself. This may be due to the fact I have dropped it on carpeting a few times, but my parents who are extremely careful about their phones also experience the same problem.

Also, the memory is too small. One percent of the memory is about 1.5 pictures. The video quality is also poor. It is often pixelated and you can't make out faces. The microphone on that is also poor in that there is always a windy like sound in the background.

Another problem that isn't that big of a deal is the fact that the pink Razr for Cingular doesn't have the Cingular logo printed on the battery cover. It seems like an inconsistency, and I have to agree on many and say that the time that it takes for the phone to pick up a signal after losing it is very long.

The web speed is also very slow and it takes a long time to download a simple ringtone. When you go to charge the phone, it automatically sets the ringtone setting to the previous setting it was on. That is frustrating because I charge my phone during the night and unless that phone is on silent, I hear the blaring music in the middle of the night.

Some good things that I like are the speakerphone, which I use a lot of, especially when driving and such. Another pro would be the how tough the phone is. I mentioned dropping it but no major issues such as dysfunctional buttons or dropped calls have resorted. I also like the menu set-up. Everything falls into common sense option areas and you don't have to dig to find out how to change the ringtone.

Also, unlike on other phones, I have found that the vibrate function is very quiet compared to other phones in which you hear the buzzing of the vibrating. There are also many ringtone selections such as vibe then ring or vibe and ring. On previous Motorola phones that I have had, you only had one of the two.

Overall, my experience with the Razr wasn't all too bad. It got too popular once it spread to Verizon and T-Mobile and that was upsetting. I think it is time for a change and I am currently shopping for a new phone.

Was this review helpful to you?



Much Improved

Rating: 4 of 5 | Christina M. on April 05, 2007

I got my pink Razr V3 about two weeks ago. I must say that whatever problems this phone had when it first hit the market must have been taken care of by Motorola. I have to admit that when I first saw this phone advertised in 2004 I didn't really like it.

As a matter of fact my reaction was as follows: "Who would buy something that thin, it would snap in half the first time you open it to talk." However about a year ago, a friend got one and I saw how sturdy it really was and just had to have one. I've been researching and debating and I must say that I am glad I finally got it.

The memory is more than adequate. I can take and store 90 pictures on the highest resolution. I wasn't expecting a video recorder, only a video playback, so I was more than surprised to find that I can record video with sound on my phone.

Although videos are a bit grainy, I can't complain because, as I said, it was more of an added bonus. Ear piece volume is great. Reception is much better than the Sony I traded it in for. I am new to Motorola interface with this being my first Motorola and all but I have to admit it wasn't that hard to get the hand of.

My Razr was personalized almost immediately and I only had to open the manual once: that was to see how to find and change my ringtones.

The only negative I have found with it so far is that when the wind blows, that's all you can hear. Battery life is okay, with two and a half to three days between charging. I can't say that I've ever had a phone that was much better than that anyway.

Was this review helpful to you?



Don't Buy This Phone

Rating: 0 of 5 | Gerry H. on November 13, 2006

My poor husband bought the phone for full retail price when it hit the market (magenta Razr because I had to have pink... silly me). He had it unlocked so I could use it with my carrier (Cingular at the time, also not a great service).

Some problems with this phone:

- System freezes.
- Phone goes dead. Camera on screen shows images as you move the phone, but no buttons respond.
- System has to be reset by removing battery.
- Talk time 45 minutes max.
- Standby time 24-36 hours max.
- Phone switches off and restarts frequently.
- States "invalid battery" or "unable to charge" or "insert SIM" when trying to charge.

After a month this "lovely" phone would shut down... and then restart but to only repeat this annoying cycle within a few minutes. I call what it did the "white screen of death". Anyway, moving along, for a five minute conversation, I had to call back about eight or nine times! Then I couldn't get the monstrosity of a phone to charge... invalid battery, unable to charge, insert SIM -- you name it, that'd be the excuse the phone kept giving me.

Everyone I'm in school with who has this phone has had similar problems and each has had to replace their phones three or four times within a few months. I never went to replace it because I know it'll just act up again and I don't feel like going through this drill again in a month.

Don't buy this phone. I've never even really cared for Motorolas to begin with -- apparently the color of the phone (pink: one of my favorites) temporarily impaired my judgment and now we're out $400. I just got a Samsung and I adore it... Samsung and LG's all the way, baby! Never again will I get a Motorola. Never. Have a fabulous day everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?



Unreliable!

Rating: 0 of 5 | Jamie on August 23, 2006

I've had five different phones over the last 10 years, and I've never had a phone worse than the Razr! I bought the phone because it was a flip phone, small and easy to slide into the pocket of your jeans, but given the lack of reliability, it's not worth it.

I've had the phone for seven months and it has already been replaced twice under the warranty. The first two times the display went dead and now on several occasions daily, the phone will beep because I have a new voice message, but the unit never rang. When opened, sometimes there is nothing but a blank white screen and it apparent that the unit is rebooting. If the utmost of care is not taken to close the phone and you allow it to flip shut, and then it goes off entirely.

Several people told me this is indicative of flip phones because the connection becomes unreliable at the hinge area. I can't say for certain but I assure you I've never abused the phone. Yes, I allow it to flip shut under its own power, but I think that's what the average user does.

Assuming I have just had bad luck with three Razr's doesn't change the fact that it's a chore to dial. If you don't use your nails to dial and favor using your fingertips, chances are you will get the wrong number. If that's not enough, they put the silly camera button is in such a position that it is always hit by mistake.

I've never had a problem with Nokia and that's what I plan to replace this useless thing with even though it cost me $299 and I never used it though its useful life expectancy.

Was this review helpful to you?



Everything I Need

Rating: 5 of 5 | J. Upton on June 20, 2006

The Razr V3 replaces my recently purchased Nokia 6103. Normally, this is not a phone I would have even considered, especially after reading some of the reviews out there, but the kiosk I purchased from didn't have anything else that really appealed to me. Much of my job is done on the phone, so it is crucial that my cell phone provides outstanding reception and call quality. The Razr V3 does exactly that. Here's the rundown:

Reception: 10 / 10 -- Outstanding signal reception... this phone gets 5 bars in places where I get 3 on my wife's phone (Motorola V330). Callers are frequently surprised when they learn I am on a cell phone and not a landline. Sometimes I have to lower the handset volume because I can hear the other party so well. I know others have said volume is a problem with the Razr. Perhaps Motorola fixed this issue, because this is the loudest cell phone I've ever used.

Connectivity: 9 / 10 -- Bluetooth and USB are the only options. I would have liked Infrared as well, as there are still a lot of laptops being made with IrDA ports... just another option for synching, and one less cable to carry. The Bluetooth remembers the last item it was connected to, and automatically links back up when the device is powered on... that's nice, because when you turn your headset on, you don't have to navigate through a bunch of menus just to get it working again... it just works.

Construction: 10 / 10 -- The phone feels extremely solid, as most of the shell is made of aluminum. The hinge is solid, with no side-to-side play in it. The fit and finish is top-notch, everything lines up properly, and the phone opens and closes with precision. The internal display is big, bright, and very crisp.

Speakerphone: 9 / 10 -- Speaker clarity and volume are excellent; the microphone could stand to be a little more sensitive. My callers tell me they can hear me fine, although (like all speakerphones) there is an increase in background noise picked up by the microphone.

Menus: 10 / 10 -- I know some say the menus are slow, but compared to other phones I've used, I disagree. In fact, I've found the Razr to be one of the faster Motorola phones I've used... the V330 being just one of them. Not only are they fast, but you can customize the look of them (icons vs. list), and in conjunction with the programmable soft keys and 5-way navigation key, you can customize the phone to work the way you want it to. Motorola's operating system is very intuitive... I learned most of it without even cracking the manual. It is stable as well, and it's never crashed on me (unlike the Nokia).

PDA Apps: 8 / 10 -- As I said, I bought the phone to use as a phone... but as it turns out, the PDA features work so well, the Razr has completely replaced my old Palm device. The Phonebook allows you to store contacts with multiple phone numbers, email address, ringtone, voice name, and a picture for the caller ID. The Datebook allows you to enter appointments or events, and you can set reminders and audible alarms for each. The Alarm Clock is easy to set, and you can choose any one of the ringtones for the alarm sound (the Razr comes with 53 different ringtones by the way). Another tool I find myself using is the voice recorder, for notes to myself.

I'm sure there are numerous other features I haven't touched on (such as the camera) that may or may not work well... but for me, the Razr does what it was designed to do. It performs all the duties I expect from a cell phone, and it does them well. Call quality and signal reception are outstanding. The phone is plenty loud, user-friendly, and very well constructed.

Before I got the Razr V3, I considered it a novelty item for the fashion-conscious... but in an ironic twist, I have discovered what may be the best cell phone on the market.

Was this review helpful to you?



Motorola Razr V3

Rating: 4 of 5 | Brenden on January 02, 2006

I just bought the Motorola Razr V3 amidst all the mixed reviews I have heard. Part of the reason I got a very good deal, another part because of the look of the phone. I must say to this point I am pleases.

- Small size, good looking phone; sleek design fits pockets well.
- Large internal LCD screen, pretty good external screen with battery, time, caller ID, etc.
- Best camera I have seen on a phone also has video.
- Many buttons on side of phone; whether open or closed.
- Very sturdy phone considering size and design; this was well done.
- Loud speakerphone.
- USB connectivity can connect with generic UBS cable (digital camera, palm etc.).

- Yes, ear volume at its max is a bit low.
- Overall a bit slow, I had one other Motorola phone (T720) and found it to be a bit slow as well. I guess it's just Motorola. The phone should be a bit more responsive when pressing buttons quickly in sequence; often it needs to catch up with the speed of your input.

I have not tried the Bluetooth, so I will not comment. However big plus that the phone has it. Battery life could be improved; but don't let this sway your decision, it's not terrible either. About average for a phone; regarding the price of this phone, should be a little better.

Was this review helpful to you?



It's Not for Me

Rating: 2 of 5 | A. MacDonald on November 26, 2005

A great phone for those who don't linger on details, and who wouldn't be considered "anally retentive." For those who are, be wary that the first one may not be the best.

- Design
- Structure (a solid frame)
- Size
- Battery life
- Keypad
- Sound quality
- Customizability
- Bluetooth
- Messaging software

Okay, so I have given the Razr a full six month test, and to my standards it has failed. The biggest flaw that I have found is manufacture. While there are some perfectly manufactured ones, I have yet to get one. The first one was the best; it just began to react very slowly to buttons after about three months.

The second had a faulty speaker right out of the box, and the third one has had a faulty backlight, and the seal around the screen is missing, allowing dirt and dust between the actual TFT screen and the plastic cover. I must say that I expect a phone to work perfectly. While most would see the dust and think nothing of it, I expect a higher standard. This is why the Razr has failed me. For the general populous, I would totally recommend this phone. It has a really cool design, excellent size, and a rad screen on both the inside and the outside.

- Vibration -- hard to feel even in a tight pocket (could be due to size)
- Camera (easy to use, but only VGA 640x480 resolution)
- Sound loudness (hard to hear in noisy places)
- Hinge (hard to open with one hand, same to close)

While I must say that I am very sad that it didn't work out, I am looking towards the Sony Ericsson Z520a, as it has everything the Razr does, except the size. While I am worried that it may not be as good as the Razr, I do hope that it will meet if not exceed my expectations. I did not include reception in this review as I understand that while this may be affected by the phone, it can also be equally caused by the service itself. This entire review is based on Cingular service in Colorado, USA.

Was this review helpful to you?



My Experience With the Razr

Rating: 4 of 5 | Geri O'Neil on November 02, 2005

After 8 months with the Razr V3 and checking out other offerings since I bought it, I'm still convinced that it's the best phone I've owned since the old $800 Motorola brick phone days.

I didn't realize what I was giving up when the pretty blonde lady sold me on the StarTac and later, the plethora of Nokias that have permeated our lives. I got a little more functionality, but gave a lot in terms of endurance, reception quality, ring volume, and life expectancy.

The last Nokia I used is now residing under a cow patty in a field somewhere in Rankin County, MS. I had had enough of that phone as well as the service from Cellular South, a local cellular provider. I gathered up the girlfriend, went to a Cingular store and there it was. I had seen it advertised, but seeing in person was another story. Gulp, $350 with new activation and after a $100 rebate.

Okay, at least I can return it in 30 days if I don't like it.

Girlfriend opted for a V180. Okay, fine, she liked it... at first, but more on that later. We went on our way, I started making calls, and I was immediately convinced that this was the best $350 I had ever spent. Even before I started checking out the toys and kid stuff loaded on it. People I was calling were convinced I was on a landline. It worked really well, most everywhere I was driving around here.

Okay, this is a review, so I'll get on with it. I've already stated how well it works with regard to reception. The best I've ever experienced. I'm reading some negative reviews here and I'm convinced that they've mistaken what they are actually reviewing. You sure that's a Razr? Certainly a lot of factors influence the reception of a mobile phone, so I'll leave that at that, you can't please everyone. It covers my main concerns splendidly, so I'll touch on the other kid stuff.

The camera... well, I have a Kodak digital camera, so I've hardly used it. I bought it to talk on, not take pictures of someone drunk and falling asleep in their beer. It's so-so, not too good, but adequate, more like a visual notepad, shall we say.

Adressbook is clunky, but it works. Voice recognition is great! Even when I say a name over Bluetooth, it always matches up the right name unless I'm in a hurricane (about a little over a month ago now).

Calculator is handy, wouldn't want to do my taxes with it, but works okay.

The other stuff, memory, wallpaper, skins, etc., I don't know, they serve me no purpose. Oh, about that V180. Three weeks after we got our new phones, I yanked my Razr out of the holder so hard that it flew out of my hands and sailed about 30 feet onto the concrete sidewalk. It survived, but the outer display was ruined and the battery life went to about an hour. So I sent it off for repair and went to buy another one. $300 for one without a new contract. Oh, well, had to have it. So the first one returns in about a week repaired for free by Motorola. I love it!

So now I had a spare. Well, I had a spare, a few days later, the girlfriend wanted to "try" my spare Razr and it's been in her hands ever since. And imagine the brownie points I made when I figured out how to load a picture of me, her, and her 3-year-old grandson as the wallpaper on her Razr. Yowsah! Yes, I have discovered Mobile Phone Tools. Besides the picture, I've taken my favorite Tower of Power tunes and made them into ringtones. Well, there may be something to the kid stuff in this thing after all. I've not hit the memory limit yet, but I understand it's on the skimpy side.

So eight months later, I'm still gassed out about this phone. It keeps working and taking a licking.

Two negatives, believe it or not. As mentioned in other reviews, a chimpanzee could have written and organized the manual a lot better. I can't believe some higher-ups at Motorola actually read through it and thought "Yes, this is good; users will find this very handy". Not!

The other quirk is that I've bought four Bluetooth wireless headsets and out of all of them, the only one that works at all, strangely enough is, drum roll, the Motorola V850 unit. The Jabra, the Plantronics, and the Logitech keep disconnecting and disappearing from the history. Something fishy here. Oh, well, the Motorola barely works, but that's what I'm stuck with for the time being. While the Razr's earpiece with quite loud enough, the V850's is barely loud at all.

So that's my gripes. Oh, and the fact that Cingular's service does not change towers very gracefully, as did my old provider, but if the service sucks to start with, what's the point of a graceful handoff?

Hope this helps, you negative users need to try again. Me? I'm waiting with baited breath for the soon-to-be-released Razr V3X. Here we go again...

Was this review helpful to you?



Less Form, More Factor

Rating: 3 of 5 | Tara Scavetti on October 04, 2005

Yes, the design is stunning -- but that is where my accolades end. The phone does what a phone should do... what Nokia's almost always do, and what Motorola rarely does. It has very good reception, good call clarity, and a good speakerphone and Bluetooth connection. Other than that, it is quite a letdown for the price and hype.

The OS is slow, and the phone only has 5.5MB of memory, which is minimal for any phone, let alone a phone that is supposed to be top of the line for Motorola. There is constant pausing when I am texting or scrolling through menus because there isn't enough memory on the phone to support even the scrawny software Motorola has graced us with.

The camera has 0.3-megapixels, which is not terrible for when it was released, but the pictures look much, much worse than on my Nokia 6230 (which also has 0.3-megapixels). There is much more to picture quality than megapixels... and that is where Motorola stopped.

There is no expandable memory, so you will not be storing many pictures on this phone (which is probably a blessing in disguise). The phone comes with the smallest and saddest assortment of ringtones I have ever seen on a Motorola phone (I have owned 7). Literally, less than 12. I suppose you could download ringtones if you keep the phone.

I believe that Motorola consistently sacrifices function for form, and while I am weak enough to be drawn to their form occasionally, the function is what keeps me loyal. Therefore, I will stare wistfully at the beauty the Razr, while texting, calling, and taking pictures on my $150 Nokia... because looks are not the most important thing.

A suggestion for Motorola: Why don't you try making beautiful phones that work well consistently? I guarantee you will kick Nokia's butt. Oh, and how about good signal strength and call quality coming standard instead of being a luxury... it is, after all a phone.

Was this review helpful to you?



Gripes

Rating: 3 of 5 | Ashley on September 26, 2005

This is only the second cell phone I've ever owned, so I don't know how it compares to others, but I have noticed one major annoyance in the 24 hours that I've owned it.

The pixels are on "sideways". When the LCD light goes through the pixels, it goes through at different brightness at different angles (i.e. the light is polarized). E.g. on a laptop screen, when you tilt the screen to face more towards the ceiling, the screen gets brighter or darker. Same with a digital camera display. When you rotate your digital camera display 90 degrees within its plane of display (like to see a vertical picture you just took), the light getting to your left eye is brighter (or less bright) than the light getting to your right eye because of the specific viewing angles.

With the Razr, when you view the display normally, your eyes get different levels of brightness from the differing specific viewing angles. When you rotate the phone 90 clockwise (or counterclockwise) (or tilt your 90 degrees), the brightness discrepancy goes away, and your eyes are aligned so that they're at the same polarization / brightness angle (but now the text and whatnot is sideways). In other words, you get the same eye-to-eye brightness discrepancy holding the phone right-side-up as you do when you hold your digital camera sideways. I can only conclude that this is because they put the pixels in "sideways" relative to how normal LCD display pixels are put into stuff.

Although perhaps it's only from my own visual pickiness that I mind this brightness angle annoyance thing, since it seems like no one else has noticed or minded it.

Other stuff:
1. it's a little slow when you're pressing buttons and going through menu options.
2. It's a little too wide and flat to feel comfortable in your hand.
3. I wish it was more customizable.
4. If you missed several calls from one person, it doesn't tell you; it just lists their name once! This is super-annoying to me.

Was this review helpful to you?



All Flash, No Substance

Rating: 2 of 5 | Fred on August 31, 2005

I received this phone eight days ago, and guess what? It's going back. I am not sure what makes this phone great. I spent a lot of money on it, and can't say it is worth more than the free phones the companies offer.

I use tech gadgets all day long, and when I need phone, I expect it to be functional. Service provider is part of it, but when it’s exclusive -- you can't really go elsewhere. I really don't have anything great to say about it, except its small. But, get a life people -- it's a fashion phone.

I bought it on the understanding that it worked. I use 5000+ daytime minutes a month, and this phone is not business oriented. For those of you who use the phone seldom and spend more time tapping the keyboard, and you feel that people need to recognize you by your phone -- then this is for you.

For all those people who need a phone to conduct business and make a living throughout the day, I say this is not it. Both the Cingular and Motorola are to blame. Cingular's service with all the bars, but what about all the dropped calls. And the message system which has no functionality to it. 10 - 2 minute messages will take you 20 min to go through try that 2 to 3 times a day, and minute usage adds up. Let people save and delete within the system. As for the phone.

- Hard to hear when using phone.
- Too many buttons to push to find out who called.
- Web Browser takes forever.
- Battery does not last what they say for consistent usage.
- No spot for wired headset, Bluetooth doesn't work that well.

There are many other things, but again I didn't buy it for fashion, text messaging, and photo messaging. I bought the phone because the Motorola built it up as a great phone. So, with that said, back to Verizon. Never had a problem, phones work and system functionality is great.

Was this review helpful to you?



Buy for Looks

Rating: 3 of 5 | Neil on August 31, 2005

Construction / Design and Appearance:

The phone is sleek, sexy and feels really nice in your hands. The color on the phone won't rub off or fade because it has no colors to fade (unless you get the black one) -- it's aluminum. The number pad has huge buttons so even those with big fingers won't have a problem. The menus and design of the phone is intuitive, it simply takes a little getting used to, once you are, its efficiency at its best.

The phone does take a little bit more cleaning than others, since its aluminum -- fingerprints and dirt will show rather easily. But a rub on your cotton shirt will fix that rather quickly. If you want it back to new, simply get something with no lint and a little ethanol (very little). The phone is a lot tougher than it looks -- I've seen it thrown, crushed, sat on and it keeps on ticking.

Lacking in design I'd say are lights, colors and flashes. The V600 was a really nice phone because it had all kinds of mood lights and smart lights in it. A phone with this price tag, I'd have though they could put a little more flash in it. It's meant to be sexy, yes -- but give buyers the option of whether to go lights crazy or not. The phone, while pretty and sexy, is bland and boring when it comes to lights. They're all pretty much one color.

Earpiece / Mouthpiece / Volume:

Sony Ericsson phones are nice, very nice but I think most people who've owned one, like me, will agree that they're unusually 'quiet'. They don't ring loud and the earpiece volume is ridiculous. This phone doesn't have that problem -- it's loud all over. The earpiece when turned all the way up has the person on the other end sounding like they're shouting. The mouthpiece is just as clear. When this phone rings or alarms, you'll hear it.

The crystal clarity at which you can record sounds and audio, assures you that if the person on the other end has a reasonable cell phone -- there'll be no huh? What? I didn't hear you just now. When talking to someone with another Razr with a good cell connection, it's as good if not better than a telephone conversation.

Features:

The phone isn't lacking in features. It comes with a phonebook that allows you to view contacts by name or list. If you choose to view the phonebook by name then all numbers and email will merge into the contact with that name; this is typical of most cell phones. Under list, the numbers and emails are displayed separately in the phonebook. I like it that way, it's more efficient. I'm able to look and hit send and call the contact, rather than looking for the contact, selecting the contact and looking again for the number I want to call.

The phone also has a voice dial feature that's nicer than most others I've used; it trains very easily and usually understands me every time. Rings / Alerts can be either sounds or mp3, which is pretty cool. The phones menu, as mentioned before is intuitive and easily operated. I got used to the menu within days. This leads me to the only disadvantage that I've found with the phone... the space. It's like showing you a five course meal but allowing you to pick a single entree. It's got a great camera, ability to play Mp3s and record video and sound -- but it comes with 5-megabytes of space. That roughly translates to a couple medium quality 30 second clips of MP3 sounds and very few high quality pictures.

I can record video, but what's the sense since a 10 to 20 second clip uses about 500kb of space. I wonder why they couldn't have stuck some more memory in -- considering the size of digital space nowadays, SD cards, XD cards... both about the size of a thumbnail. One could easily fit beside the SIM card.

Alas, you're doomed to work with five for as long as you own this phone, meaning so many compromises on your part pertaining to how to spend / save your memory / space.

Conclusion:

All in all, I don't think this phone is worth $500. Maybe $150 to 200 max is acceptable for the phone. Buy it for looks and performance -- buy it for being a great phone... but don't buy it for 'features' and 'extras' or for flash and pizazz because while the phone does possess the tools, it simply doesn't possess the freedom in which to harness them.

Was this review helpful to you?



Razr Review

Rating: 3 of 5 | Eric T. on August 25, 2005

Just got this phone as a replacement of my 6yrs old Motorola LF2000i... That good old phone served me well but it finally gave up... so it was time for me to move to the new century: got the Razr v3.

Because I stayed with Cingular, I could directly compare the reception quality of the two phones in places where I usually use my phone. In its days, the LF2000i was the state of the art tri-band GSM... The Razr performs definitely much better. For instance, at home, I went from 2 to 3 bars max to full reception. So far, not a single dropped call, always clear reception. I give it a 10 / 10 for the most important feature of a phone: the phone part.

When you flip the phone open, the screen is even cooler than the keypad. This display is amazingly bright and sharp the colors are vivid. It's also huge compared to the phone size... I almost wish I could watch DVDs on that screen.

The keypad is also quite surprising. The design is very original and futuristic. It performs very well too. Each key has a good size and goes down quite a lot for such a slim phone. Of course you can always press on two keys are the time, but if you do so, you feel it right away.

People are always complaining about Motorola's user interface. Well... I was able to use almost all the features without opening the manual. Maybe using an LF2000i for six years has "Motorolized" my brain or after all, Motorola's UI is not that bad. I never really used other brands so I can't compare... but it definitely worked for me.

Battery life is good but it's too early to tell. Li-ion batteries seem to take a couple of cycles until they deliver full capacity and I have been playing so much with the phone that it doesn't count as normal use. One thing: I left Bluetooth turned on overnight... big mistake. The next morning the battery was dead. I have to investigate that but it seems that BT is sucking on the battery like crazy.

The small external display is quite frustrating. It's basically useless as soon as the backlight goes off... which is almost all time when the phone is closed. You can barely read the time and it doesn't show any other useful information like the battery and the reception. To see those, you need to press on a key or open the phone... duh.

The responsiveness of the menus is a bit on the slow side... Don't be too impatient because you'll end up wasting time. For instance, in the default configuration, if you press "back" too many times, you'll end up taking a picture.

I had to open the damn manual only for one thing: To find how to turn that phone on... of course once I found it made me feel a bit stupid. I am glad I could figure out the rest by myself: this manual looks like they randomly picked a bunch pages and threw them together. There no logic whatsoever in how the topics are organized... even the two languages are mixed up.

The goodies... I know it has nothing to do with the phone itself, but the phone came up with the bare minimum: No extra charger, no extra battery, no case, no USB cable... They even cut on the software: The phone barely has a dozen rings and one demo of a game. Of course, that makes sense since you have to pay to get those... eh.

I couldn't care less about the camera. Well, there is one and just it's good enough for adding portraits in the address book.

Was this review helpful to you?



Must Have Phone!

Rating: 5 of 5 | Peter on July 13, 2005

I read a lot of reviews (if not all), and even the negative ones. I was a little skeptical on first, after reading how many peeps had negative reviews, but after actually "having" the phone; it seems the people with the bad reviews are either:

1. Heavy handed (handles phones like a dog handles a bone).
2. Don't actually own a Razr V3.
3. Don't know what in the world they're saying.

Some said the reception and loudness is low -- that's truly a lie. The phone is more than perfect, from the keypad to the big screen to even the mp3 playback. I myself am pimping my phone with the following:

1. Flashing / Flexing to get video camera playback.
2. New Orangey and Glass Skin.
3. Compressed full MP3 songs (I can take 6MB MP3's and make them about 450KB, but works at around 1.1 MB).
4. Delete the preinstalled ringtones / most wallpapers, which gives me 8.5MBs.

I use it for impressing, by hiding it, and closing my phone and the MP3 still plays. You can keep it in your pocket and it'll play the whole list. That, to me, is just amazing.

This is the must-have phone. Not to mention the last time I checked only 1.9 percent of the population uses this phone and everyone wants it, that enough gives this phone good review and looks in public.

To get the most out of this phone if you’re a modder or just like to play MP3s on it, you just have to learn how to compress it (Google DietMP3), and make the most of the space you have. A must buy phone.

The biggest thing I love is the playlist. Since I have about 5 full MP3 rap songs on my phone as we speak, I can put the rap in a rap playlist, the R&B in another, or all in 1, and play them all back to me like a real playlist. Also, when you play a playlist or just one song, you can press "hide" while its playing, and hide the program, thus letting the MP3 play while you use your phone. That has to be the coolest feature.

Was this review helpful to you?



Razr Review

Rating: 4 of 5 | Adam M. on June 19, 2005

Svelte, Durable, Display second-to-none, portable, good speaker microphone, light, fits well in hand, quad-band / world phone.

Having done MUCH research both online and in-hand in the last 1 to 2 months, I can confidently say the Razr / V3 is overall the best cellular on the US market today. I used the LG VX8000 a while, but its bulkiness and non-customizable menus did it in for me. The Motorola V551 was a decent small cellular phone with good battery life and non-slip "skin" and decent display and customizable menu, but the call sounds were often distorted and a few dropped calls occurred, so I brought it back to cell phone limbo.

The Sony Ericsson Z500a was promising, but the swivel was never desirable and the OS was Very slow and the display and keypad were too small and unattractive. I thought of the Palm Treo 650, but the stub antenna and poor reception and frequent re-boot requirements took it out of the picture. The keys on the Audiovox SMT5600 were too small, and the screen was just Okay and the battery life was poor.

There is no perfect mobile out there now, but the V3 comes closest. If you will be using your phone day in and day out (as I do), why not have an attractive and vivid display and cool shape and size and material composition? All of which the Razr has head-and-shoulders above the rest of the current U.S. market.

I carry the phone in my front pants / shorts pocket (who needs a protective cover?) and may get a thin screen protector if I note scratches. Because of the vivid screen, fingerprints are expected, but what's the big deal with cleaning off the screen once in a while.

The camera picture quality is better than the V551 and LG VX8000 ones, but it's a little awkward to press the shutter button due to the thinness of the Razr. Bluetooth and email capabilities are useful (whenever I decide I need them), but I don't need an MP3 player or smartphone or day planner or video games (if you do, don't get this cellular). And even if the OS is a little slow, what's a second here or there in your lifetime? Importantly, you should get the V3 through Best Buy (a Cingular rep), as they will give you a two-year warranty for $40, unlike the Cingular folks who offer no warranty (no phone is without possible problems after a while).

Yes, the address / phone book is cumbersome (only first letter allowed to search), but a small price to pay for the multiple pluses this phone offers.

Finally, the Razr durability has been good so far, and the phone in the "closed" mode seems indestructible (anodized aluminum -- metallic surface coated by a protective oxide).

Suboptimal Earpiece volume, mildly slow OS.

The earpiece microphone is a little low in volume, but the speakerphone and voice microphone are great, with no dropped calls to date. Battery life is decent, about 2 to 3 days with "normal" use for me, but the phone can be charged from empty to full charge within 1 hour (it took the V551 four hours to charge up fully from empty).

Was this review helpful to you?



Icing on the cake

Rating: 5 of 5 | DNA on February 26, 2005

I bought the Motorola Razr V3 to use as a phone. I bought it to talk to people, family, friends and others. For me the most essential thing a phone must have is very good reception and good quality sound. It is primarily a communication device after all. People who buy any phone for something other than speaking will always be let down because that is not and never will be the major function of a phone. The extras are fine but it all boils down to reception and sound when choosing a phone THEN the looks and extras. It is very important to get ones priorities right otherwise you might end up buying a useless ornament.

Is the V3 a useless ornament for the rich and wealthy?

When I got the phone I was first and foremost concerned about whether or not I would be happy with the reception and sound. I was nervous because I had spent a lot on the V3 and if it didn't give me a good sound then I would have wasted my money and had to send it back because I've got a PC that can play games and calculate etc.

I bought the Motorola Razr yesterday. I did not buy it for the looks although it does look very cool. I wanted features like the speakerphone and good reception and sound quality because I make a lot of calls to remote places in the world and today I just made my 1st international phone call to a remote village in the Burmese jungle and both my wife and I were astonished with the reception. We turned on the speakerphone and we could hear what they were saying in our backyard and in any room in the house. The speakerphone is a huge booster and we have never, ever had such good reception ever on any mobile phone ever. The person at the other end could hear us both speaking at the same time and that's from a remote village in Burma. This phone is unbelievable.

I was worried until today because I hadn't really had a chance to test the V3's reception and speakers. Wow. Amazing capability and reception. If it receives crystal clear and very loud signals from deep inside the Burmese jungle then I have to give this 1000 percent out of 100 percent. You just cannot get any better than that. I was nervous until just now because my wife was saying it seemed like too quiet a phone. But the Razr just amazed her. We were even able to record some of the conversation. And on top of this I got a real cool looking phone too.

Also we receive double call time because I used to hand the set to my wife and after 10 minutes I'd take it off her and talk for another ten. Now we can both talk and listen for 10 so instead of having to make a 20 minute call we can both get to talk for 10 minutes at the same time. I'm not one of those who bought it for the looks although I love that too. I wanted excellent performance and got it.

A phone is about calling people and good sound quality and reception are the most important things required to communicate. I have never ever experienced such wonderful reception and clarity ever before as on the V3 and I strongly urge people to buy it if what you're after is a good phone. It will give you excellent reception and you will love the speakerphone which will allow 2 of you to speak to the caller so you can have conference calls.

For talking over the phone the V3 has absolutely the best reception and sound quality anyone wanting to use a phone could ever hope for. If you're after a phone this is perfect and you won't be let down because talking to friends, family and colleagues is what phones are for and the Motorola Razr excels in this as I have yet to ever find better quality audio or reception on a phone. My wife was blown away when her family sounded like they were sitting right there with us. It was an unbelievable experience.

I had all my contacts and media loaded into my phone before I had even opened it for the first time. Phone Tools was such a breeze to work with. Graphics -- crystal clear. Menus work very fast for me. Love the layout. I charge via my USB and Motorola has answered all my tech queries almost instantly. Easier to use and set up than all my previous phones.

I highly recommend it if you want a phone for talking to people. The extras are the icing on the cake.

Was this review helpful to you?



Like an Old Flame

Rating: 4 of 5 | Rick P. on August 02, 2006

The Razr V3 is my first phone of my own although I used a friend's backup T191 for a year.

Yes, earpiece sound is weak but maybe it is the problem of the other person not holding their phone in front of their mouth. About keeping the phone in your pocket without a case, I did that until a rainstorm put the screen out of operation until the phone dried out. Now I always keep not only a leather case but also a small plastic bag with me for phone-raincoat. And the screen was terribly dark outdoors even before the dousing. Who can read this screen outdoors?

If this phone can record video, why is it so hard to set it up and why no instructions in the manual? I read in the manual that you can activate any speed dial number 1-9 by entering the single digit and holding for 2 seconds. Wrong. Number one speed dial, although you can assign it to someone, doesn't actually work. Only 2 and up. 1 is for voicemail.

Can Motorola get the instructions right next time? But I really do like this phone. It reminds me of an old flame of mine who was so good looking but had a lot of quirks.

Was this review helpful to you?



Love It!

Rating: 5 of 5 | Conner on June 01, 2006

I absolutely love this phone. Slim, but not so small it is hard to hold onto. I bought the phone from Cingular; it was locked and only had 5MB of memory. Thanks to this forum, I now have 9.6MB of free memory and an unlocked phone. Plus funlights and clublights.

- Exceptionally long battery life.
- Big screen inside.
- Screen outside.
- Camera (actually halfway decent).
- Pretty sturdy.
- Awesome reception! For the folks with bad reception, go with a new 64K SIM card (32k doesn't work well).

- Grease magnet.
- Stock menu is crummy (monsterpack fixes this).
- Raised sections of keypad come in contact with screen and leave marks. I fixed this with a razor, shaved the raised bits off the Razr keypad.

Was this review helpful to you?



Pros/Cons

Rating: 4 of 5 | Caesar on May 17, 2006

I have a Motorola Slvr L7. My aunt has this phone and we swapped our SIM cards for a few days and tried each other’s phones out.

Personally, I don't know why everyone hates the Razr. I loved it. I think it was one of the best phones ever made. It has everything my Slvr has except an MP3 player.

- Nice to look at.
- Nice Motorola UI.
- Bluetooth capable.
- Speakerphone.
- Beautiful internal display.
- Alarm clock.
- Camera (it is just a phone so don't expect digital quality camera here).

There is so much more but I cannot think of any.

- When I would talk on it, there was a little buzzing noise in the background but if I moved from that spot, everything would be fine again. I can't think of anymore because this is a great phone.
- Other than the buzzing noise, this phone was absolutely flawless. I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone. But, if the V3i is coming out late this month, than wait.

Was this review helpful to you?



Correction

Rating: 5 of 5 | radsmd on February 16, 2006

I just wanted to join in the chorus in support of this phone. I love this phone and it does everything as advertised. Enough said.

I want to keep the post short, but I would like to address one specific point of error I noted in a previous post and one opinion:

1. The phone book is not as limited as some might have you believe. You can search either by first letter (which is the default) OR by SEARCH which allows you to put as many letters in as you like, then press the search key. Change this setting by going into the address book, pressing the menu key (top middle key), scroll down to "setup," then select "search method." Change from "jump to" to "find." This is very helpful if, like me, you have a large number of contacts in your book.

2. For those who like the phone but think it is uncomfortable to use over the long haul because of its ergonomics, I've got one word: Bluetooth. Invest in a good Bluetooth headset (I got, and love, the Motorola H500 for its size, clarity, and sensitivity). This headset and this phone are the absolute least cumbersome setup I could imagine.

Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful to you?



Buying Another One

Rating: 5 of 5 | Mark on June 16, 2005

We just bought a couple of the V3s and joined the family plan with Cingular which was a good deal for us.

First, this phone does have a video camera that will record video if you are willing to hook it up to a computer and run a program or two to enable it. In fact, there are many neat things you can do to modify your phone that the typical person cannot if they are afraid to hook it up to a computer and get under the hood so to speak.

Second, the reception is excellent on this phone. I've owned several mobiles before and none of them has ever gotten reception in the building where I work in downtown San Francisco. This one gets great reception. The screen is very easy to clean and does not require any special cleaner. A soft, lint-free cloth is all it takes and regular attention.

If you get this phone you should also consider getting the Mobile Phone Tools program with data cable so you can manage photos, MP3s, ringtones, contacts, etc.

I think I'm going to buy another one just to have a spare should mine ever break in the future. I've simply worked too hard writing a guide on what you can do with this great phone. Ok, I'll get off my soap box now.

The only thing I was disappointed about was the lack of a carrying case. I shopped around and found what we determined to be the best looking and performing case: Krusell. It's almost a shame to put something this nice looking into a case so I'm probably going to get a Motorola OEM slip case also.

Was this review helpful to you?



Great Speaker

Rating: 4 of 5 | Philip on January 04, 2005

I would like to add that the speaker in the V3 is quite loud and that the phone can be used as a speakerphone. Also with a data cable and the Motorola software (downloadable from Motorola for about $27) you can back up your numbers and calendar and convert any wave file to an MP3 file suitable for use as a ring tone. I ripped a few trumpet fanfares from a CD and they make great ringtones that are not limited in length (within reason). I have dropped mine several times and left no mark on the case. Also, the Razr comes with a leather case in England and several aftermarket cases are also available there.

The data cable is a standard USB to mini USB cable. I bought one from Cingular and when I opened it I found I already had two just like it so I took it back. I find that a micro-fiber cloth such as used for cleaning glasses does a great job of cleaning the screen and case.

Was this review helpful to you?



Impressions

Rating: 3 of 5 | Phil on December 31, 2004

I've had the V3 since November. The sound quality is a lot better than the V400 that I used to have. It rings really loud too. It fits easily into your pocket or purse. It's so light that sometimes I forget it's in my pocket and I sit down on it. I've dropped it a few times too and it hasn't broken yet. It's sturdier than it looks.

The camera's picture quality is really nice and the glass lens helps out with that (opposed to most camera phones that have a plastic lens).

It's a grease magnet though (as stated in the last review). It doesn't just wipe off easily with a towel either. You almost need some kind of cleaning agent to break down the oils.

The price is a little much but I wouldn't trade it for any other phone. If you want something comparable to it at a lower cost and are willing to give up the feature of its sleek appearance, I'd try the V551. It's affordable, good quality with Bluetooth and a video camera (which the V3 lacks -- although it can play received video clips). The only thing I would ask around about would be sound quality because it's pretty much an upgraded version of the V400.

Was this review helpful to you?



People Will Stop You

Rating: 4 of 5 | Max K. on November 21, 2004

I just got a Razr V3 yesterday from Cingular, and I have to say that while the phone has all the features I want (Bluetooth, quad-band, etc.)

It's a pretty exclusive phone, the Cingular guy who sold it to me said they were only selling it for 90 days... and that was the reason for me not being able to buy insurance for it. There are no replacements.

Since its new and rare, people will stop to ask you about the phone, so if you like attention this is the phone to have. The reception and clarity are great. All metal construction is great, and the screen is gorgeous. Overall, I like the phone, and I bought it because it's fairly exclusive and uncommon... but the price is a bit much, but these are just my initial impressions.

I think I would have been better off getting something else. The keypad is made of a shiny metal that shows fingerprints and other gunk easily, so be prepared to clean it on a regular basis. The address book is ridiculously difficult to use, especially if you have entries saved to your SIM, it shows them all. It took me a few hours to figure out how to have multiple numbers for 1 entry (for example, 1 entry for John Smith, Home Number, Cell Number, etc.) instead of 5 different entries for John Smith. I can't get insurance for the phone through Cingular, so if anything happens to it, I'm out the $500 bucks it cost.

The earpiece, in the very top of flip up part, takes a little getting used to. In fact, it really reminds me of the old StarTacs, feels just like one in my hand, obviously lighter though, and the lack of any accessories, even a case, makes me a little nervous.

The ringtones it comes with sucks and the Cingular version doesn't come with the software.

Was this review helpful to you?



A+

Rating: 5 of 5 | Carrie L. on February 04, 2008

This phone is awesome. I even got new phones and I still go back to the Razr V3 -- the magenta one -- in the end. Texting is fast and I get good service everywhere. Phone calls are clear, and the keys are easy to press. I have dropped mine several times -- once in a puddle -- and it still functions great.

The camera is one of the best I've seen on a cell phone, and I like to My Album feature for T-Mobile because I can send all my pictures to my online album and share them with everyone.

The Razr is the best cell phone I have used so far, and I have tried a lot. I give it an A+ overall.

Was this review helpful to you?



Razr Alternatives

Rating: 1 of 5 | Kyle X. on November 29, 2007

If you want a Razr do not get a V3 but rather get a V3u or V3i. Some other very nice phones provided through Motorola are the Slvr L6 and L7 series and the 370w flip phone. It's just like the Razr but narrower and a little thicker but just as nice.

I recently bought two Razr V3 phones from AT&T, and both have gone out in a month! The phone turns on but you have to push on the right middle section on the back for the keypad to light up. The keys don't work besides power, call, #0985. And the screens don't turn on.

I dropped one in my living room on brand new soft carpet and it went out and the other one fell out of my pocket when I was getting in my car onto my drive way and went out. That one's keypad works and lights up but screen is out and speaker cuts in and out and gets no reception!

Was this review helpful to you?



Get a Samsung A900 or Sanyo Katana

Rating: 0 of 5 | Alex Balac on July 04, 2007

The Motorola Razr V3 sucks. They are mass produced with little care and sold high to gain as much profit as possible.

My friend's Razr broke twice in a month and a half. Also dust can collect underneath the screen after time -- through an air vent somewhere on the arm. So if you want to join the Razr fad like everyone else and add to the problem, go ahead. Or you can by a phone similar to the Razr like the Samsung A900 or the Sanyo Katana and refuse to jump on the Razr bandwagon.

The Katana is the closest phone to a Razr, appearance wise, out there and the A900 is packed full of features not seen on the Razr. But the choice is yours.

Was this review helpful to you?



Good/Bad

Rating: 3 of 5 | Chris on June 16, 2006

- Very light and slim.
- Much nicer design.
- Camera is very clear for a VGA.
- Reception is... eh, it's okay.
- Very large screen.

- Keypad marks are left on screen after closed.
- Some ringtones, are like a stupid note, like Ta-Da? Who wants that?
- The screen gets dirty fast. I constantly rub marks off.

Advice: Get a plastic clip on case that covers most of your phone and get screen protectors. The memory is good but if you have a digital camera use that instead of phone. Don't complain about memory if you have a separate camera.

Tip: If you send a picture from your computer and send it to your phone, when you store it, it is very low in the storage; it only takes up 5.66KB or something like that so try it.

Was this review helpful to you?



My 3rd Razr

Rating: 2 of 5 | Nancy on May 24, 2007

I can honestly say, while I am on my third Razr now due to some problems, I am overall pleased with this phone. It does require small fingers, patience and a little technical savvy to use though. The camera works pretty well, the sound quality is average and the Bluetooth compatibility is a bonus.

It does have its faults, though. If you are hard on phones, it may not be for you. This phone requires you to turn it off once a day to give it down time. If you don't, it will randomly shut itself off at the worst possible time. Do not drop this phone! While it is an attractive design, it is also fragile.

The storage capacity for text messages is not the greatest. After a while, as I found with my prior Razrs, it will begin screen freeze as well. I feel if you can live with some quirks, the phone is decent, but nowhere near as wonderful as it was initially hyped up to be.

Was this review helpful to you?




Write a Review


All fields must be completed.

Name



Rate This Phone

Rating: 5 of 5 - Love it!
Rating: 4 of 5 - Like it.
Rating: 3 of 5 - It's okay.
Rating: 2 of 5 - Don't like it.
Rating: 1 of 5 - Hate it.
Rating: 0 of 5 - Should never had been made.


Title of Review



Pros
What do you love about the phone?

Must contain at least 20 words about the phone.


Cons
What do you dislike about the phone?

Must contain at least 20 words about the phone.